MINUTES

City of Charlottesville Electoral Board Meeting of March 8, 2017

The meeting was called to order by the chair at 5:40 p.m. in the office of the General Registrar. Those present were Electoral Board members Anne Hemenway (Chair), Jon Bright (Vice Chair), and Jim Nix (Secretary), General Registrar Rosanna Bencoach, Deputy Registrar Katie Mauller, Assistant Registrar Melissa Morton, and Assistant Registrar Patrick Cory.

On a motion by the vice-chair, seconded by the chair, the agenda was approved unanimously without change.

On a motion by the chair, seconded by the vice-chair, the minutes of the February 2, 2017 meeting were approved unanimously.

Report by the General Registrar

The General Registrar presented a written report to the Board much of which was focused on the office budget and the start of preparations for the upcoming primary election. She also updated the Board on registration numbers and the participation of the registrar's office of the City of Charlottesville Efficiency Study. There followed a discussion on the employment status of several members of the staff with an explanation from the General Registrar of the various categories of employees and their benefit status.

Reorganization of the Electoral Board

The Code of Virginia mandates that the Electoral Board be reorganized at the March meeting. Following a very brief discussion of member preferences, current Vice-Chair Jon Bright moved that the three Board members retain their current positions for another year. Paragraph 24.2-106 of the Code of Virginia requires that the chair and the secretary shall represent different political parties, unless the representative of the second-ranked political party declines in writing to accept either office. Mr. Bright stated that he would so decline and his signed statement to that effect is attached to these minutes. His motion was then seconded by the current secretary and unanimously approved. Anne Hemenway will thus continue to serve as chair, Jon Bright as vice-chair and Jim Nix as secretary.

Organization of the Central Absentee Precinct (CAP)

The board members have expressed dissatisfaction with the organization of election day activities of the CAP and are seeking ways to improve the efficiency of the process in advance of the June 13 primary. To that end, the chair recommended that a meeting be organized with the Albemarle County Elections Director to learn how Albemarle County officials have organized a relatively trouble-free CAP operation. If possible, this meeting is to be held during the week of March 20, with the three board members in attendance along with the General Registrar, Deputy Registrar Katie Mauller, Assistant Registrar Melissa Morton and Albemarle County Deputy Registrar Clarice Schermerhorn.

Ms. Morton informed the board that she has spoken with our CAP election officials and, all but one will be returning for the June primary. She is also working to recruit a few experienced officials for CAP from other precincts. The General Registrar is also investigating options for alternative election day locations for the CAP that would offer better working conditions than the City Hall basement conference room, currently used for this purpose.

Elections Director Report

Ms. Morton led a discussion of the election official evaluation forms completed by the precinct chiefs in November. A change to the rating form to add the designation of the position(s) worked by the official on election day was suggested by the vice-chair. Ms. Morton also conducted a review of the calendar for the next few months and coordinated with the board members on all events requiring board member participation. She also provided the board with a list of key officers of election confirmed for the June primary. With the exception of just one precinct chief and one assistant chief, all of the most important positions have been filled, nearly all with returning experienced personnel.

In a further discussion of plans for the primary, Assistant Registrar, Patrick Cory confirmed to the board that layout drawings for each precinct will be prepared and provided to the chief election officials at training.

A number of weeks ago the secretary raised a question challenging the requirement that all officers of election remain at each precinct until all of the paperwork has been completed. A search of the code book by the secretary and the General Registrar has revealed no explicit requirement that they need to remain. While it is clear that the leadership team members are required to stay until everything is done, the consensus of the board is that the chief should be able to release at an earlier time those officers of election who had completed their work. The General Registrar will investigate further and inform the board of her findings at the next meeting.

Appointment of Officers of Election

Although the recruitment of additional officers of election has been suspended because the current roster contains more than enough qualified officers for the 2017 elections, two applications have been received and were reviewed by the board. The chair moved that these two be appointed. The motion was seconded by the vice-chair and approved unanimously. The following individuals were appointed:

Janna Gies John wills Lloyd

Executive Session

At 7:17 p.m. there was a motion by the chair to close the meeting for the purpose of conducting a discussion of personnel matters. This motion was seconded by the secretary and approved unanimously.

The board reconvened in open session at 8:50 p.m. and the chair moved to certify by recorded vote that only matters exempted from the open meeting requirements were discussed in the closed session. This motion was seconded by the secretary and approved unanimously. Copies of the motion closing the meeting and the certification following the closed session are attached to these minutes.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Board will take place during the week of March 20 at a date, time and place to be determined.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

James Nix, Secretary

Anne Hemenway, Chair

Jon Bright, Vice Chair