Laserfiche WebLink
MINUTES <br /> <br />City of Charlottesville Electoral Board <br />Meeting of March 8, 2017 <br /> <br /> <br />The meeting was called to order by the chair at 5:40 p.m. in the office of the General <br />Registrar. Those present were Electoral Board members Anne Hemenway (Chair), Jon <br />Bright (Vice Chair), and Jim Nix (Secretary), General Registrar Rosanna Bencoach, <br />Deputy Registrar Katie Mauller, Assistant Registrar Melissa Morton, and Assistant <br />Registrar Patrick Cory. <br /> <br />On a motion by the vice-chair, seconded by the chair, the agenda was approved <br />unanimously without change. <br /> <br />On a motion by the chair, seconded by the vice-chair, the minutes of the February 2, <br />2017 meeting were approved unanimously. <br /> <br />Report by the General Registrar <br /> <br />The General Registrar presented a written report to the Board much of which was <br />focused on the office budget and the start of preparations for the upcoming primary <br />election. She also updated the Board on registration numbers and the participation of <br />the registrar’s office of the City of Charlottesville Efficiency Study. There followed a <br />discussion on the employment status of several members of the staff with an <br />explanation from the General Registrar of the various categories of employees and their <br />benefit status. <br /> <br />Reorganization of the Electoral Board <br /> <br />The Code of Virginia mandates that the Electoral Board be reorganized at the March <br />meeting. Following a very brief discussion of member preferences, current Vice-Chair <br />Jon Bright moved that the three Board members retain their current positions for <br />another year. Paragraph 24.2-106 of the Code of Virginia requires that the chair and <br />the secretary shall represent different political parties, unless the representative of the <br />second-ranked political party declines in writing to accept either office. Mr. Bright stated <br />that he would so decline and his signed statement to that effect is attached to these <br />minutes. His motion was then seconded by the current secretary and unanimously <br />approved. Anne Hemenway will thus continue to serve as chair, Jon Bright as vice- <br />chair and Jim Nix as secretary. <br /> <br />Organization of the Central Absentee Precinct (CAP) <br />