Laserfiche WebLink
Minutes, December 18, 2018 Page 1 <br />MINUTES <br /> <br />City of Charlottesville Electoral Board <br />Meeting of December 18, 2018 <br /> <br /> <br />The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 5:50 pm on Tuesday, December 18, <br />2018 in the office of the Charlottesville General Registrar. Those present were Electoral <br />Board members Anne Hemenway (Chair), Jon Bright (Vice Chair), and Jim Nix <br />(Secretary), General Registrar Rosanna Bencoach, Election Manager Melissa Morton, <br />Project Assistant Joyce McKenney and former Deputy Registrar Dianne Gilliland. <br /> <br />On a motion by the Vice Chair, seconded by the Chair, the agenda was approved <br />unanimously without change. <br /> <br />On a motion by the Chair, seconded by the Vice Chair, the minutes of the November 19 <br />meeting were approved unanimously without change. <br /> <br />Public Comment <br /> <br />City resident Patrick Cory was present for the meeting but made no comment. <br /> <br />Registrar’s Report <br /> <br />There was no formal report but the Registrar informed the Board that, according to the <br />Virginia Public Access Project (VPAP), based on statistics from the Department of <br />Elections, the turnout in Charlottesville in the recent election came closest in the state to <br />matching the turnout in the 2016 presidential election (97.3%). <br /> <br />Appointment of Election Officials <br /> <br />Project Assistant Joyce McKenney presented applications from five individuals wishing <br />to become election officers. The board reviewed these applications and, on a motion by <br />the Chair, seconded by the Vice Chair and unanimously approved, the following were <br />appointed: <br /> <br />Paula Fallon <br />Rebecca Kathryn Hill <br />Margie L. McPherrin McNergney <br />Paula Sprague <br />Miguel Valladares-Llata <br /> <br /> <br />