Laserfiche WebLink
<br /> <br />Minutes, April 3, 2019 Page 1 <br /> <br /> <br />Minutes <br /> <br />City of Charlottesville Electoral Board <br />Meeting of April 3, 2019 <br /> <br /> <br />The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 5:45 pm on Wednesday, April 3, <br />2019 in the office of the Charlottesville General Registrar. Those present were <br />Electoral Board members Anne Hemenway (Chair), Jon Bright (Vice Chair), <br />General Registrar Rosanna Bencoach, Election Manager Melissa Morton and <br />Project Assistant Joyce McKenney. <br /> <br />On a motion by the Chair, seconded by the Vice Chair, the Vice Chair was <br />nominated to serve as Acting Secretary, due to the absence of Secretary Jim <br />Nix. <br /> <br />On a motion by the Chair, seconded by the Acting Secretary, the agenda was <br />approved unanimously as written. <br /> <br />On a motion by the Chair, seconded by the Acting Secretary, the meeting <br />minutes of March 12, 2019 were approved unanimously. <br /> <br />Public Comment <br /> <br />Sena Magill commended the Board and staff for their hard work and their <br />dedication to excellence. <br /> <br />Registrar Report <br /> <br />The General Registrar reported to the Board that the Charlottesville Democratic <br />Party requested primaries on June 11, 2019 to nominate the party’s candidates <br />for City Council (3 seats), Clerk of Court, House of Delegates (57th District) and <br />State Senate (25th District). The Republican Party did not request primaries for <br />any of these offices. <br /> <br />The General Registrar reported that the Charlottesville Democratic Party had <br />certified five candidates for City Council, who all filed at the same time. Under <br />state law, the ballot listing order for primary candidates is determined by filing <br />order. When qualified candidates file at the same time, for a local office, the <br />Electoral Board is required to determine the ballot order “by lot”. The five <br />candidates, with their requested and approved ballot names are: <br /> <br /> R. F. “Bob” Fenwick, Jr. <br /> Sena A. Magill <br /> Michael K. Payne <br /> Brian R. Pinkston <br /> J. Lloyd Snook, III <br />