## Charlottesville City Council and Planning Commission Joint Work Session – City Council Minutes Tuesday, April 25, 2023, at 5:00 p.m. CitySpace Main Conference Room (100 5<sup>th</sup> Street NE)

The Charlottesville Planning Commission held a joint work session with the Charlottesville City Council to review Module Two of the Zoning Ordinance Update. Chair Lyle Solla-Yates called the work session to order with a quorum of Planning Commissioners. Mayor Lloyd Snook stated that all City Council members were present. Missy Creasy, Deputy Director of Neighborhood Development Services stated that public comment was being accepted in writing at the meeting or by emailing comments to her during the meeting.

James Freas, Director of Neighborhood Development Services, began the presentation by reviewing the remaining schedule for developing a Draft Zoning Ordinance to present to City Council.

Commissioner Hosea Mitchell encouraged moving the draft Zoning Ordinance forward before potential turnover in Planning Commission seats in August, and City Council seats in January, in order to avoid the need to educate new members.

The meeting agenda followed the outline below:

- 1. Topics of Review in Association with Zoning Ordinance Update
  - a. Module Two (discussion)

Module 1 of the draft Zoning Ordinance covers the proposed zoning district rules, the use table, and the zoning map.

Module 2 of the draft Zoning Ordinance covers Development Standards, including landscaping, parking, signs, lighting, etc.

Module 3 of the draft Zoning Ordinance covers Zoning Administration (review processes).

Mr. Freas led discussion about:

- Preservation of existing housing
- Affordable Dwelling Units The "Inclusionary Zoning Section"
- Affordable Dwelling Units The "Double-Density Section"
- Sensitive Community Areas
- Block provisions to promote connectivity
- Transportation and parking
- Transitions and screening

- Fences and walls
- Landscaping and trees
- Environmental sustainability (critical slopes)
- Signs
- Lighting

Councilor Puryear left the meeting at 6:30 p.m. and Vice Mayor Wade left at 7:39 p.m.

Public comments were received in writing during the meeting from the following individuals:

- Benjamin Heller
- Maddie Nell Jane
- John Hossack
- Riley Hannan
- Bill Emory
- Mark Schuyler
- Penny Keiter
- Gail Barber

The meeting adjourned at 8:36 p.m.

BY Order of City Council

BY Kyna Thomas, Clerk of Council