

## CHARLOTTESVILLE CITY COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

## August 27, 2024 at 5:30 PM SPECIAL MEETING Council Chamber

The Charlottesville City Council convened in a special meeting on Monday, August 26, 2024, for the purpose of interviewing applicants to fill vacancies on the City of Charlottesville Planning Commission. Mayor Juandiego Wade called the meeting to order, and Clerk of Council Kyna Thomas called the roll, noting the following councilors present: Mayor Juandiego Wade, Vice Mayor Brian Pinkston, and Councilors Natalie Oschrin and Lloyd Snook. Councilor Payne requested to join the meeting by electronic means.

After establishing a physical quorum in Council Chamber, Clerk Thomas confirmed that Councilor Payne was visible and audible in Council Chamber. Mr. Payne stated that he was unable to attend because of illness and that he was participating from Charlottesville, Virginia.

Council by a vote of 4-0 affirmed Mr. Payne's participation in the Council meeting by electronic means (Ayes: Oschrin, Pinkston, Snook, Wade; Noes: none).

On motion by Pinkston, seconded by Snook, Council voted 5-0 to convene in closed meeting pursuant to section 2.2-3712 of the Virginia Code, specifically as authorized by the Virginia Freedom of Information Act Section 2.2-3711(A)(1) for interview, discussion, and consideration of prospective candidates for appointment to the Planning Commission (Ayes: Oschrin, Payne, Pinkston, Snook, Wade; Noes: none).

On motion by Pinkston, seconded by Snook, Council certified by a recorded vote of 5-0 that to the best of each Council member's knowledge only public business matters lawfully exempted from the open meeting requirements of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and identified in the Motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed, or considered in the closed session (Ayes: Oschrin, Payne, Pinkston, Snook, Wade; Noes: none).

On motion by Pinkston, seconded by Snook, Council by a vote of 5-0 (Ayes: Oschrin, Payne, Pinkston, Snook, Wade; Noes: none), appointed the following members to the Planning Commission: Betsy Roettger, Lyle Solla-Yates, and Danny Yoder.

Mayor Wade adjourned the meeting at 7:01 p.m.

BY Order of City Council

BY Kyna Thomas, Clerk of Council