

CHARLOTTESVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES February 11, 2025 at 8:15 a.m.

Council Chamber, 605 E Main St, Charlottesville, VA 22902

The Charlottesville City Council convened in a special meeting on Tuesday, February 11, 2025.

Mayor Juandiego Wade called the meeting to order, and Clerk of Council Kyna Thomas called the roll, noting the following councilors present: Mayor Juandiego Wade, Vice Mayor Brian Pinkston, and Councilors Natalie Oschrin and Lloyd Snook. Having established a physical quorum, Council considered a request from Councilor Payne to participate electronically. Pursuant to Council's adopted procedures and in compliance with the Virginia Freedom of Information statute for meeting participation through electronic communication means, Mr. Payne participated from his home in Charlottesville because of recovery from illness. On motion by Pinkston, seconded by Snook, Council unanimously approved electronic participation by Councilor Payne.

Pursuant to section 2.2-3712 of the Virginia Code, Vice Mayor Pinkston moved that City Council close the open meeting and convene in a closed session, as authorized by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711(A)(1) for discussion, consideration, or interviews of prospective candidates for employment. The motion was seconded by Councilor Snook and passed unanimously. Mr. Payne was present electronically for the duration of the closed meeting; however, because of technical difficulty he was unable to re-join the open meeting.

On motion by Pinkston, seconded by Snook, Council certified by the following vote: 4-0 (Ayes: Oschrin, Pinkston, Snook, Wade; Noes: none; Absent: Payne), that to the best of each Council member's knowledge only public business matters lawfully exempted from the open meeting requirements of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and identified in the Motion convening the closed session were heard, discussed or considered in the closed session.

On motion by Snook, seconded by Pinkston, Council voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 9:45 a.m.

BY Order of City Council

BY Kyna Thomas, Clerk of Council