Albemarle County



Albemarle County is named for Willem van Keppel, who was the 2nd Earl of Albemarle.

Surrounding County Courthouses:

- N Greene County and Orange County
- E Louisa County, Fluvanna County and Buckingham County
- S Buckingham County and Nelson County
- W Augusta County, Waynesboro and Rockingham County

Surrounds Independent City - Charlottesville



Created: May 6, 1744 County Seat: Scottsville 1744 – 1762 Charlottesville 1762 – present

County Courthouse – Charlottesville

Location: 501 East Jefferson Street / Park Street Built: 1761 – 1781 Style: Greek Revival Architect: William Cabell Contractor: William Cabell and John Moore

Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Charlottesville. The south front has a large portico with four tall lonic columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The windows have stone headers. On the roof is a white colored octagonal cupola. The building has expanded northwards. The 1762 building was torn down and the building was enlarged in 1803. The architect was Willliam D Meriweather, Isaac Miller and George Divers and the contractor was John Jorday. An additions was constructed in 1859 and in 1879 to 1880, the courthouse was enlarged with the addition of the south wing with its Ionic portico. Renovation work was done in 1938. The architect was Milton Grigg and Flloyd Johnson. The building was renovated in 1963. The architect was Johnson, Crevan and Gibson. The building is located on the east side of Courthouse Square with the District Court along the west side.

County District Court – Charlottesville



Location: 501 East Jefferson Street / Park Street Built: 1938 – 1939 Style: Colonial Revival Architect: Elmer E Burruss Contractor: Barnes Limber Company

Description: The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Charlottesville on the west side of Courthouse Square with the Courthouse along the east side. The south front extends from the main building and has three arches with arcade and recessed entrance. At the roof line is a pediment. The building extends northwards. There are dormers along the hipped roof.

See: The 16th Judicial Circuit includes Charlottesville, Culpeper County, Fluvanna County, Goochland County, Greene County, Louisa County, Madison County and Orange County.

History: The first courthouse was a frame structure modeled built by Samuel Scott in Scottsville in 1749. The courthouse was modeled after the **Goochland County** courthouse. The county seat was moved to Charlottesville in 1762. The second courthouse was built by William Cabell and John Moore on the Courthouse Square in 1762 to 1763 on land donated by Dr. Thomas Walker. The courthouse was modeled after the **Henrico County** courthouse. The courthouse was torn down and replaced in 1803 by the rear wing of the existing building. The grounds of the courthouse once held a whipping post, pillory and stocks, as was typical of the time.

County Administration – Charlottesville



Location: 401 McIntyre Road / Preston Avenue Built: 1938 – 1939 Style: Colonial Revival Architect: Unknown Contractor: Unknown

Description: The building faces south and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Charlottesville. The south front has steps to the second story which has a large portico with four columns. On the roof is a white colored octagonal cupola. The building is the former Lane High School.



County Courthouse – Charlottesville















BOARD OF COUNTY SUPERVISORS

J. M. FRAY, CHAIRMAN E. J. BALLARD P. H. GENTRY H. ASHBY HARRIS C. PURCELL MCCUE L. G. ROBERTS, M. D.

ERECTED 1939 N.A.HADEN, COUNTY EXECUTIVE ELMER E.BURRUSS, ARCHITECT BARNES LUMBER CORPORATION GENERAL CONTRACTORS



County Administration Building – Charlottesville







Photos taken 2013